Create Authoring - Uploading Layouts

Modified on Thu, 24 Sep at 10:46 AM

Save your PowerPoint file and go to the Layout slide you wish to upload.

Select Author on the side bar.

The Author task pane will open at the Upload Assets panel.

Complete the details of the new layout:

  • Name: The name that you choose will appear underneath the layout thumbnail in the Layouts task pane once the layout is uploaded.
  • Publish date: Defaults to the current day, month and year. To choose a future date, click on the calendar button and select the date. The recorded publish date and time will be in the same time zone as that of the author. Users will not be able to see any assets that have a future publish date until that date. Other authors will be able to see it before the publish date.
  • Set expiry date: This field is optional. If you want a layout to be available for a limited period only, check Set expiry date, click on the calendar button and select the date. The recorded expiry date will be in the same time zone as that of the author.
  • Updateable: This field is optional. Check the box to mark a layout as updateable. When a presentation containing updateable out-of-date layouts is opened, the user will be prompted to update.
  • Upload to: Defaults to Layouts to upload to the Layouts task pane.
  • Use a current search folder or create new: Defaults to Use existing. Select the folder to which you would like to upload your layout from the drop-down list or select Create new to create a new folder for the new layout.
  • Create new search tags: This field is optional. Add relevant searchable tags for the slide with a space between tag names. Note, tags are automatically created based on the content of the slide (i.e. all the text) – the tags added here are additional.
  • Click OK.
  • If you haven’t saved the presentation, you will be prompted to do so.
  • A message confirming that the layout will be uploaded appears.
  • Click OK.

Select the Notifications button on the ribbon, once it’s enabled, to view a list of the updates.

Click OK to clear the notifications, or you can just close the dialog.

Users will receive their own notifications informing them of any updates to updateable assets. See Notifications.

Related Topics

Uploading Images

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select at least one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article